Forgot Password?

Register

Back to forum

WALLACE & GROMIT CHAT » PICTURES OF MODELS YOU HAVE MADE

There are 4248 messages in total. Showing messages 151 to 200.
conty Posted: Dec 20th 2007

cavor, thats great, you know thats how aardman make wallaces top, alot of people belive that they are made completely from plastercine but the vest isnt, so that wallace can be moved while animating, it gives the animator something they can touch without crushing the model, im sure you know that but just saying for the others that maybe didnt;)

im going to have to have a go at doing solid feet/shoes as i think that might help with the ole standing up business!!!

cavor Posted: Dec 20th 2007

Starting to mould the feet

Mould was painted with a layer of PVA glue then left to dry this acts as a release agent, I then coated the mould with a thick layer of polyurethane rubber this I left for about an hour, next I placed a oblong piece of snip foam into each foot then the aluminium wire legs were placed through the mould, the bottom of the feet were topped up with more polyurephane rubber with 2 half pennys set into sole and heal of each foot.

Did you know that some pennys have a high ferrous content meaning you can pick them up with a magnet!

Some professional sets have a thin steel sheet for the stage and you have a strong magnets underneath to hold onto steel plates set into the puppets feet.

WARNING THESE MATERIALS SHOULD ONLY BE USED BY ADULTS

Fully moulded feet still in the mould.

I left the feet to set for a couple of days then sanded the soles flat, then I had the great task of pulling the feet from the mould.

The idea of the layer of snip foam is to give it enough flexibility, as polyurethane rubber would be too tough on its own.

My Wallace Armature.

I drilled holes in the solid body for the head,arms and legs
and attached them using a hot glued gun WARNING! get and adult to help if you want to do anything like this.